Skip to main content

Cornell University Cornell Brooks Public Policy

Sloan Alumni Achievement Award

The Sloan Alumni Achievement Award, established in 2014 by the Sloan Alumni Association, recognize Sloan alumni who, through their endeavors in healthcare administration, demonstrates the relevance and significance of the education they received in the Sloan Program at Cornell University.

As leaders they have branched out in many directions to use their knowledge and skills to change the world. It has long been recognized that graduates of the Sloan Program in Health Administration have made significant contributions to their industry, they have been advocates for change, and have had substantial impact in their work place and their community, and generously supported the Sloan Program and its students.

The award is presented annually. Nominations are accepted each fall.

2021 Recipient: R. Brooke Hollis, Sloan ’78
Brooke Hollis MBA/HHSA, MArch & UD is a 1978 Sloan graduate and has been a dedicated volunteer working for decades to contribute to the program. He served for over 15 years on the Sloan Alumni Association (SAA) board and served as president. During his tenure he helped to recruit Will White as Sloan director. He then worked closely with Will and with his successor Sean Nicholson to lend support to re-energizing of the program and assisted with its rise in the rankings from 29th to the top 10.

2020 Recipient: Clifford E. Barnes, Sloan MBA ’74
Clifford, a 1974 graduate of the Sloan Program, is a Member of the Firm in the Health Care and Life Sciences practice in the firm’s Washington, D.C. and New York offices.He serves as Co-Chair of the firm’s Health Plan Compliance Group. An accomplished and respected attorney, Cliff has been employed by the firm for over 35 years and represents providers, including hospitals, nursing homes, home health, hospice, ancillary service companies and managed care companies, concentrating in Medicare and Medicaid. He is the Co-Founder of Medicaid Health Plans of America, Inc., and currently serves as Vice Chair of the Accountable Care Organization Task Force of the American Health Lawyers Association. 

2020 Recipient: Daniel M. Grauman, Sloan MBA ’80
Daniel M. Grauman, MBA, CPA/ABV, is a 1984 Sloan graduate with 40 years of experience working with health systems across the US where his success has been based on having an impact and making a difference in the lives of others. He is Managing Director and CEO of Veralon healthcare consultants. He is also the co-founder of two affiliates, iProtean, an online board education portal, and Quanto, a web-based financial management tool for value-based payment. 

2019 Recipient: Jay Yedvab ’62
During his career of 40 years, Jay Yedvab served as an administrator in health care facilities and hospitals across the United States and Canada. This includes roles as CEO of Mt. Zion Hospital in San Francisco and Bergen Pine County Hospital in New Jersey, and the position of Administrator of the Baycrest Hospital in Toronto, Ontario. Yedvab continues to be actively involved in the support of the Sloan Program, its students, alumni, and on-going academic mission – manifesting in a variety of impactful ways. Read more about Jay Yedvab.

2018 Recipient: Alexander (Sandy) Williams ’63
Sandy Williams has been a partner in the recruiting firm of Witt Kieffer for the last 27 years. During his time at Witt Kieffer, he specialized in academic medicine, association and international searches to help institutions and organizations find the best health talent to help both individuals and populations. Throughout his multidisciplinary career, he came to understand that the key to success was learning to work with doctors and to appreciate the
medical education process – with all its warts. Read more about Sandy Williams ’63.

2017 Recipient: Nancy M. Schlichting, MBA ’79
Nancy M. Schlichting, MBA ’79, is retired Chief Executive Officer of Henry Ford Health System (HFHS), a nationally recognized $5.7 billion health care organization with 27,000 employees, and recipient of the 2011 Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award, 2011 John M. Eisenberg Patient Safety Quality Award, and 2004 Foster G. McGaw Award. She is credited with leading the health system through a dramatic financial turnaround and for award-winning patient safety, customer service and diversity initiatives. 

2016 Recipient: Michael W. Azzara ’71
Michael W. Azzara is a senior consultant with Foley Proctor Yoskowitz, a health care consulting firm specializing in executive search, physician recruitment and management consulting for the health care industry. Since joining Foley Proctor in October 2003, Yoskowitz has focused on executive and physician search, hospital governance assessment, leadership development and succession planning.

Azzara is past president of the Sloan Alumni Association and has been an active and integral volunteer with the program since his graduation. Over the years, he has been a mentor and advisor for numerous prospective and current students as well as alumni. A strong advocate for the program, Mike played an active role in helping to seek summer internships and job placements for graduating students in addition to promoting philanthropic support of Sloan. Read more about Michael Azzara.

2015 Recipient: Richard McK. F. Southby ’67
Richard Southby has committed his life to public health through his career, education and community involvement. In his native Australia, he had originally planned to go into hospital administration. His career path changed course while at Sloan. He saw his future in the emerging field of health policy and developed a passion for putting more emphasis on public health where he saw growing opportunities.

Southby went on to become one of the founders of the School of Public Health and Health Services at the George Washington University. He’s had an impact on the field across the globe and is passionate about reforming the U.S. health care system to focus more on public health. His leadership, initiatives and contributions have had a lasting impact on the health care industry, and his involvement as a graduate of Sloan has greatly benefited the program, its students and faculty. Read more about Richard Southby.

2014 Recipient: Bernard A. Kershner, ’64
Bernie Kershner sets the standard for this award. He has demonstrated outstanding success and distinction during his career. His significant accomplishments and achievements have contributed greatly in many areas of the health care industry. Kershner is recognized for his leadership, innovation and lasting contributions that have impacted individuals and organizations, and, most important, the Sloan Program, its students, faculty and alumni. Read more about Bernard Kershner.